HIS Committees


Trainee Committee

The HIS Trainee Committee is a new standing committee of the Healthcare Infection Society and is responsible for overseeing Trainee Membership recruitment, and establishing regular communication and engagement with Trainee members throughout the country.


Luke Bedford (Communications Representative) 
Jasmin Islam (Education Representative) 
Chris Lynch (Regional Representative) 
Manjula Meda (Trustee)
James Price (Professional Affairs Representative and Chair)

For details of further vacancies, please go to the members area.

Education Co-ordinating Group

The Education Co-ordinating Group is responsible for the design, planning and delivery of educational initiatives in keeping with the strategic aims of the society, including planning the scientific content of Spring Meetings, delivery of events targeted at trainees and other meetings. 


Fiona Byrne
Mike Cooper (Chair)
David Enoch(Deputy Chair)
Carole Fry
Mark Garvey
Martin Kiernan
Nikunj Mahida
Tia Yiannakis

Scientific Development Committee

The role of the Scientific Development Committee is to promote the development of the science of infection prevention and control and to foster the translation of scientific developments into clinical practice. Included in their activity are coordination of HIS working parties, determining the research policy and close liaison with the Journal of Hospital Infection editorial board.


Christina Bradley
Alaric Colville
David Enoch
Carole Fry
Mark Garvey
Simon Goldenberg
Jim Gray
Andrea Guyot
Peter Hoffman
Heather Loveday
Bill Newsholme
Chris Settle
Peter Wilson (Chair)

Grants Committee

The Grants Committee, a sub-committee of the Scientific Development committee is chaired by Bill Newsholme and oversees the applications and awards of HIS Grants. 


Richard Cooke
Mark Garvey
Bill Newsholme (Chair)
David Partridge
Peter Wilson