Lowbury Lecture

Professor Edward Joseph Lister Lowbury (President of the Society from 1980-1984) lends his name to an annual lecture awarded by the Society. 

Since 1980 the The Lowbury Lecture has been awarded to a distinguished international speaker who is a pioneer in the field of infection prevention and control. 

In 1998 and 2002, and 2017 the Lowbury lectures opened HIS International Conferences which were held in Edinburgh, the city where his namesake, Joseph Lister, pioneered the first practical expression of infection control.

A pioneer himself, Edward Lowbury was the doyen of modern infection control and his work on matters as fundamental as disinfection of hands and cleaning hospital floors is still pertinent today. 

Lowbury Lecturers

The Society is delighted to announce Professor Jan Klutymans as the 2022 Lowbury Lecturer. Professor Klutymans (UMC Utrecht) will deliver his lecture entitled Prevention of surgical site infections: a personal odyssey during FIS/HIS 2022.

2021 Professor Marc Bonten Watch the lecture here
2020 Professor Evelina Tacconelli Watch the lecture here
2019 Professor Petra Gastmeier
2018 Professor Susan Huang 
2017 Professor Nicholas Graves
2016 Professor Sanjay Saint
2015 Professor Herman Goossens
2014 Professor Wing Ho Seto
2013 Dr Michael A Borg
2012 Dr Stephan Harbarth
2011 Professor Satoshi Hori
2010 Dr Hajo Grundmann
2009 Mr Klaus Roth
2008 Dr Lul Raka
2007 Professor Shaheen Mehtar
2006 Professor William Jarvis
2005 Dr Anna Hambraeus
2004 Professor John W Pearman
2003 Professor Didier Pittet
2002 Professor William A Rutala
2001 Dr Adriano G Duse
2000 Dr Andreas Voss
1999 Dr O B Jepson
1998 Professor Keiichi Hiramatsu
1997 Dr S Valway
1996 Dr Jonathan Sackier
1995 Professor R Rubin
1994 Professor Richard P Wenzel
1993 Professor Elaine Larson
1992 Professor A A Forder
1991 Professor B Nyström
1990 Professor Walter F Schlech
1989 Dr H W Jaffe
1988 Professor Franz D Daschner
1987 Professor Gerald P Bodey
1986 Professor Dennis Maki
1985 Dr Paul Edelstein
1984 Professor J E McGowan
1983 Dr D Armstrong
1982 Dr Elisheva Simchen
1981 Professor L Kallings
1980 Dr Peter Cruse