Working parties

Working parties produce evidence-based guidelines and expert guidance in all areas of infection prevention and control. Many of the Working Parties listed below are led by the Society. HIS members also provide expert representation on Working Parties of other organisations.

Published HIS guidelines and expert guidance can be browsed, searched and filtered


Healthcare Infection Society Working Parties

Prevention and control of infection in burns units (joint with British Burn Association)


Pauline Jumaa (Chair)

Healthcare Infection Society  
Clare Thomas  British Burn Association  
Louise Teare Healthcare Infection Society  
Luke Moore Healthcare Infection Society  
Naiem Moiemen British Burn Association  
Peter Hoffman Healthcare Infection Society  
Sarah Smailes British Burn Association  
Simon Booth British Burn Association  
Val Edwards-Jones British Burn Association  




The use of faecal microbiota transplant as treatment for recurrent or refractory Clostridium difficile infection and other potential indications


Benjamin Mullish (Chair)  British Society of Gastroenterology
Ngozi Elumogo  
Simon Goldenberg Healthcare Infection Society
Christopher Green  
Ailsa Hart  
Peter Hawkey  
Tariq Iqbal  
Josbert J Keller  
Graziella Kontkowski Lay member
Susan Manzoor  
Belinda Marsh Lay Member
Blair Merrick  
David Moore  
Rob Porter  
Nabil Quraishi  
Jonathan Segal  
Chris Settle Healthcare Infection Society
Naveen Sharma  
Horace Williams British Society of Gastroenterology


Microbiological commissioning and monitoring of operating theatre suites


Karren Staniforth (Chair) Healthcare Infection Society
Andrew Stacey Healthcare Infection Society
Andrew Telfer-Brunton Healthcare Infection Society
Andrew Thomas British Orthopaedic Association
Chris Needham Healthcare Infection Society
Craig Mackintosh Healthcare Infection Society
Deidre Malone  Infection Prevention Society
Hilary Humphreys Healthcare Infection Society
Ian Stockley British Orthopaedic Association
Peter Hoffman Healthcare Infection Society
Malcolm Thomas Healthcare Infection Society
Peter Jenks Healthcare Infection Society
Roger Bayston Healthcare Infection Society
Ruth Collins Infection  Prevention Society


Infection prevention and control of Group A streptococcal infection in acute healthcare and maternity settings in the UK
Marina Morgan (Chair) Healthcare Infection Society
Lisa Butcher Healthcare Infection Society, Infection Prevention Society
Doreen Cartledge The Lee Spark NF Foundation (Lay member)
David Enoch Healthcare Infection Society
Brendan Healy Public Health Wales
Teresa Inkster  
Theresa Lamagni  
Aye Thar Aye Healthcare Infection Society
Colin Brown  
David Jenkins British Society of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy
Sarah Smith The Lee Spark NF Foundation (Lay member)
Derren Ready  
Lucy Rivett Healthcare Infection Society
Shiranee Sriskandan  
Peter Wilson Healthcare Infection Society
Lucy Lamb  
Andrew Smith  
Anita Banerjee  
Mervi Jokinen The Royal College of Midwives
Thomas Harrison Healthcare Infection Society (Trainee member)
Judith Ewing  
Leila White Healthcare Infection Society 
Anne de Bono  


Water management for healthcare microbiologists


Michael Weinbren (Chair) NHS England  
Elise Maynard (Vice-Chair) Elise Maynard Associates  
Annette Rankin NHS National Services Scotland  
Elaine Cloutman-Green Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust  
Gareth Hughes University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust  
George McCracken Belfast Health and Social Care Trust  
Ginny Moore UK Health Security Agency  
Jalal Miah Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust  
Jimmy Walker Walker on Water  
Joanna Walker NHS Grampian  
Karren Staniforth UK Health Security Agency  
Manoj Mistry (Lay member)    
Margaret Ogden (Lay member)    
Mark Garvey University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust  
Martin Shouler Arup  
Mary Lucey (Trainee member) University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation  Trust  
Michael Ralph NHS National Services Scotland  
Paul McDermott PJM-HS Consulting Ltd  
Peter Hoffman    
Sandra Lai UK Health Security Agency  
Susanne Surman-Lee Leegionella Ltd